The seat of Davenport was named after Sir Samuel Davenport (1818-1906) who was elected to the Legislative Council in 1857. Davenport includes the suburbs of Bedford Park, Darlington (part), O’Halloran Hill (part), Flagstaff Hill, Bellevue Heights, Eden Hills, Craigburn Farm, Coromandel Valley, Blackwood, Glenalta, Hawthorndene, Upper Sturt (part) and Belair (part). It is approximately 49.1 km² and includes Belair National Park, Flinders University and Flinders Medical Centre.

If you are unsure whether you are located within the Davenport electorate, click here to find out.