Queen's birthday honours recipients

Please see me announcing the recipients in parliament on Thursday 2 June 2020: 

Mr DULUK (Waite) (15:33): Like almost every other country in the world, Australia has a system of honours and awards so that its citizens can be recognised for excellence, achievement or meritorious service and contributions to our society. I would like to acknowledge the special Queen's Birthday Honours recipients from my electorate. I am so proud to have such a vibrant community of volunteers who actively participate in the improvement of our society.

The following recipients epitomise the concept of going above and beyond to serve others and are exemplars, demonstrating high standards so outstanding that their peers have taken the initiative to reflect and share them with all of us.

Firstly, Dr Karen George of Craters West, was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to history preservation and research and to professional associations.

OAM recipients in my electorate include Mr Robert (Bob) Arnold of Eden Hills, for service to the community through Blackwood Rotary Club. Bob is a keen environmentalist as well. Other recipients are Mr Graham Davis of Crafers West, for service to sport in South Australia; Professor Adrian Linacre of Blackwood, for service to forensic science; and Dr Joseph Montarello of Netherby, for service to medicine, particularly in the field of cardiology.

Mr John Mudge of Eden Hills received the Australian Fire Service Medal for nearly 40 years of service to the Eden Hills CFS and Region 1 Operation Brigade, which is a fantastic achievement. On a personal note, I would also like to congratulate the Hon. Alan Ferguson AM, Morrie Bailes AM, Kathryn House AM, Peter Wadewitz OAM and Kryzysztof Balcerak OAM for their Queen's Birthday honours recognition for their contribution to their fields and to civic service.